Message Us
Timelines.ai
0
 

OT, Occupational Therapy Master's Degree Personal Statement, Experienced, Volunteer

Updated: 6 days ago


I could not be happier with my choice of career, Occupational Therapy, which I find enormously fulfilling. Each day, I am anxious to get to work to be with the clients and other caregivers, always appreciating their diligence and resiliency. In particular, I very much enjoy the interdisciplinary aspects of OT with careful coordination between speech pathologists, physical therapists/assistants, and OT assistants. I also love the great diversity among our clients, especially as a result of the volunteer opportunities that I have enjoyed. As a student in your program and later as a certified OT professional, I look forward to learning and practicing new and developing approaches to OT; in particular, aquatic therapy as well as equine-inspired approaches.


After completing your program and earning my Master’s Degree in OT, I hope to find a position with an organization that encourages and supports ongoing training and the cultivation of further specialization within my field. I have not yet had the opportunity to travel as much as I would like and hope to find ways to do so as an OT professional, completing positions overseas in the Developing World is on my agenda. Also, I might well choose to serve as an OT in different geographical regions of the US throughout the course of my career, refreshing my profession as well as my life in general with new surroundings and people. I look forward to decades to come serving as an OT alongside a highly-skilled team of physical and occupational therapists, counselors, speech pathologists, healthcare workers, etc. I profoundly enjoy brainstorming and problem problem solving with my colleagues, thinking together in an interdisciplinary fashion, learning from each other. Dedicated to lifelong learning, I plan to always stay fully abreast of developments in OT research and methodology so that I will be able to provide the most up-to-date, evidence-based treatment available. For this reason, I look forward to the fullest possible immersion in learning opportunities - to better serve my clients and their families.


With respect to research, I hope to contribute at some point to our knowledge concerning injury and the psycho-social aspects of disability, in addition to my study of our rehabilitation systems and the ongoing refinement of our ability to creatively adapt to our environment and circumstances. I look forward to daily opportunities to develop meaningful relationships and share joy with clients, caregivers, and others. I live for the chance to make a positive difference in people's lives in a variety of ways—from helping them to make small changes all the way up to having the opportunity to support them in achieving major milestones and accomplishments. Nothing brings me as much joy as those lightbulb moments and the inspiration that follows.


I hold a Master's Degree in Counseling and an LPC-Intern license and have worked in a number of settings including Pecan Valley Center for Mental Health and Wellness, a facility that provides a variety of behavioral healthcare services to persons with mental illness, intellectual and developmental challenges, and/or alcohol and chemical dependency. I have also worked at an intensive outpatient treatment facility that focuses on group therapy for individuals with a primary diagnosis of schizophrenia, schizoaffective, and/or bi-polar disorder. Managing a heavy case load of clients has made me an accomplished clinical note taker.


I had a major physical injury that left me lying prone for two whole months and I was only able to recover fully as a result of corrective surgery. I had to learn to do many things all over again, just as is the case with many of my clients; thus, empathy and compassion for others in this situation is born from my personal experience – which will always be with me. Pediatrics, family-centered practice, older adult care, I thrive when studying many aspects of OT. Currently enrolled in Abnormal Psychology, Biopsychology, and Kinesiology online, I have also received research training under the supervision of my professor, studying the effects of the media’s portrayal of body shape on the relationship between depression and body image. My group won 4th place at the Oklahoma Psychological Association’s yearly conference.


I now have two years of experience working with adults, including geriatric clients, in both inpatient and outpatient facilities, utilizing both group and individual therapy done. I have volunteered at TIRR Memorial Hermann Hospital, which specializes in the rehabilitation of individuals who have experienced catastrophic illness or injury, such as spinal cord and brain injuries as well as stroke. I've also worked at a pediatric outpatient facility and have been extensively trained in sensory and neuro-based therapies, learning how to assess reflexes, visual-motor skills, self-regulation capacities, sensory needs, etc. I have volunteered at a skilled nursing facility, so I have learned through observation how OTs teach skills to their clients, using a walker or a shower chair for example. I also helped with bed/chair transfers and assisting clients with putting on clothing. As well as washing clothes in the gym, which had washers and dryers available, I would mostly keep the clients on task while they completed fine motor activities such as twisting screws for better dexterity and cognitive activities like remembering which playing cards go in what suit and putting them in order. I have also volunteered at a skilled nursing facility where my responsibilities included the evaluation of the person’s home for safety after discharge, and then making recommendations concerning adaptive equipment and teaching patients to use that equipment. such as a shower chair or a walker, and how to care for themselves safely. I assisted our discharged patients with a variety of typical activities, from cooking to driving, as they made progress through recovery . Currently, I am actively involved with the Meals on Wheels Program distributing food to the elderly in their homes. We package, deliver, and sit with them for a few minutes to chat after giving them their food. Finally, for the last three years I have been a Sunday school teacher at my church. I look forward to continuing to improve the Spanish that I first began learning as a high school student, in preparation for the chance to help vulnerable little Latinos struggling to communicate in two languages, often in a foreign culture, with parents for whom putting bread on the table is generally an arduous, daily struggle. These children are in special need of our assistance.


I thank you for considering my application.

#occupationaltherapy #OT #personalstatement #purpose #masters #writing #editing #samples